NOTICE OF DELIQUENT LAND AND TAX SALE LISTING

You are hereby notified that the following land, lots, parcels and pieces of land, or so
much as necessary, on which taxes, special assessments, interest and penalties have not
been paid will on March 1st 2021 beginning at 9 o'clock a.m. on that day at the office of

the County Treasurer of Grant County, Nebraska at the Courthose in Hyannis will be

offered for sale (tax certificate only) for the 2019 taxes and prior years

DISTR MULTI

ICT PARCEL YEAR LEGAL TOTALDUE
TRACT IN LOT 1 HYANNIS SECOND

5 380019833 SUBDIVISION $761.12
LOTS 1,2,3,4,5 EXCEPT FOR THE EAST 15' OF

5 380020009 e LOT 1, HYANNIS THIRD SUBDIVISION $408.92
TRACT (DES B-8,P-159) LOT 22 HYANNIS

5 380020203 i THIRD SUBDIVISION $546.34
TRACT (DES B-8,P-154) LOT 7 ABBOTT'S
TRACT LOTS 8 & 9 (DES B-9,P-679)

5 380021005 HYANNIS SECOND SUBDIVISION $194.48

25 380010623 b WHITMAN $199.92

TRACT (DES B-9,P-131) 19 24 36 ACREAGE
25 380011271 ***  LAND UNIMPROVED OUT LOT .20 ACRE $8.72

PROPERTY IN BANKRUPTCY CANNOT BE ADVERTISED
PUBLISH FEBRUARY 4, 11, 18, 2021



OFFICE OF

Grant County Treasurer

P.O. Box 312, Hyannis, NE 69350
Phone (308)458-2422 Fax (308)458-2780

Emai1~treasurer@grant.nacone.org

RE: Tax Sale Certificates
In answer to your request for information on Tax Sale Certificates, we can supply you with the following:

1. Delinquent taxes are advertised the first three weeks in February, Public sale opens the first Monday in

March. Public sale closes after all participants in the sale have passed their turn, then all delinquent

taxes are for sale under the Private Tax Sale. County tax sale certificates may be assigned at any time.

They are then held to maturity, when you can start your own action for foreclosure.

Redemption time is 3 years.

Interest rate is 14% at the present.

Subsequent taxes must be paid as they become delinquent, during the life of the certificate.

You are responsible for your own process when the certificate matures.

We have a public sheriff sale once a year on county tax sale certificates, date and time determined by

our County Attorney.

7. WE DO NOT ALLOW PURCHASES VIA FAX OR TELEPHONE. You must identify the property
you wish to purchase.

8. Our County Attorney’s office will have information as to which county tax sale certificates will be sold
this year.

9. We have no mailing lists or listing of parcels available. The purchaser must research his/her own
information which may be needed.

10. Future Bankruptcies-We will not guarantee that you will be notified.

B b b Lo 2

Sincerely,

Robin L Seidler
Grant County Treasurer



Tax Sale Guidelines for Grant County Nebraska

The following is subject to change and does not constitute legal advice. We are not attorneys and
therefore cannot provide any guidance. It is very important that you understand the complexity
of this process. IF YOU fail to comply with the statutes governing tax sales, you CAN lose a lot of

or all your money. These are the rules of the state. You have agreed to these rules by your
participation.

LOCATION

The tax sale will be held at the Grant County Courthouse, 105 E Harrison Street, Hyannis, Ne
69350. The sale will be held in the district court room.

REGISTRATION

Tax sales are held on the first Monday in March starting at 9:00 A.M. in the treasurers' office or
other designated location. The auction starts promptly at the designated time, if you are late
you will be placed as the last bidder of the next round, after the current round is completed.
Registration sheets are available through the treasurers' office. It is suggested that you
preregister before the day of the sale, at which time you must pay a $25.00 participation fee.

BIDDER REGISTRATION

1. Name on the certificate

2. Address on the certificate

3. City, state and zip on the certificate.

4. Mailing address if different than the certificate.
5. Tax ID # or social security #

6. Phone number, fax number and e-mail.

7. Primary contact

8. Attending representative.

QUALIFIED BIDDERS

Bidders must be separate and distinct bidders. Bidders who register as basically the same bidder
will be disallowed, and only one bidder allowed to participate. You will also want to read the
section on ASSIGNMENTS later in this document. Each individual may represent only one entity.

NOTICE

Delinquent taxes are advertised in the Grant County News for the first three weeks in February,
you may obtain a copy from this source, or from this website. Normally this list is left "as is" after
initial notification, it is your responsibility to inquire about updates or paid statuses.



THE TAX SALE

The sale is conducted in the round robin format used extensively in the state of Nebraska. You
will receive a number when you sign in. After all numbers are distributed, the treasurer will pick a
number at random. That number will be the first person to be offered the first parcel on the tax
sale list. We will then go to the first parcel, which are listed in parcel number order, and the first
buyer will have the option of purchasing the tax sale for ALL delinquent back taxes and fees for
that parcel. There is currently a $20.00 fee which is non-refundable upon tax sale redemption. If
the first bidder chooses not to purchase the tax sale then the second bidder (holder of the next
number) has the option and so on. If you pass on your turn you are done for the round of sale
until we have gone through all other bidders. Note that the dollar amounts in the newspaper do
not include all delinquent interest and MAY include multiple years of back taxes so be prepared
to pay more than the amount published. It is your responsibility to know what you are buying.
There are no refunds on purchased certificates.

Cell phones will be OFF. If you have to leave the room to make/take a phone call the tax sate
will continue without you. YOU MAY THEREFORE Miss YOUR TURN.

EXEMPTIONS

We do not sell properties already in tax sale or properties currently in bankruptcy. If you buy a
parcel which later goes into bankruptcy, you may have to see a lawyer.

STATUTES; NEBRASKA REV STATUTES 77-1801.......

Section 18 of Chapter 77 deals with tax sales and certificates. You may view the chapter at
http://statutes.unicam.state.ne.us/or your local library. You are NOT purchasing the property.
You have NO AUTHORITY over the property or its disposition whatsoever. You are merely
purchasing a tax lien on the property by paying the back taxes. In three years time, you can take
action to foreclose on the property if the tax sale you bought is not redeemed. During the three
years, you can pay subsequent delinquent taxes as they become delinquent on April 1 and August
1 of each following year.

ANOUNCEMENTS

Sale day announcements may take precedence over other previous announcements or listings.
If a decision must be made that is not statutory in nature, we are almost always going to defer,
within the limitations of the law, with the taxpayer who lives here owns property and therefore
pays taxes in Grant County.

Upon completion of the bidding, you will be expected to provide a blank check to the Grant
County Treasurer. We will then process your tax sales, and then mail you copies of the
certificates. When we have completed the process, we will process your check and send it to the
bank. We will be happy to contact you with your total purchase check amount, Certificates will
be issued in the name you designated when registering,



When a tax sale certificate is redeemed you will be paid 14% interest from the date of sale to the
date of redemption. Please note the $20.00 purchase fee is not reimbursed. Your check will be sent
out when we are certain the redemption check has cleared the bank.

LEFTOVERS

After the tax sale there are usually delinquent taxes that were un-purchased. These parcels are

available day to day, until all are gone. Prospective buyers should beware of parcels no one else
wanted.

ASSIGNMENT

There is a $10.00 fee for assignments. There are to be ABSOLUTELY NO assignments whatsoever
the day of the sale. The tax sale certificates will be issued in the name of the party on the
registration form. Any assignment within 45 days will be disallowed. This is being enforced to
protect the integrity of the sale for all participants.

DEEDS

There is a $10.00 fee to obtain a treasurer's deed. There are statutory timelines involved in this
process, and you would be well advised to obtain the advice of an attorney.

FORECLOSURE ACTION

We do not provide legal advice on foreclosure actions. However, one of your statutory
responsibilities is to notify the treasurer's office if a foreclosure action is filed. Failure to do so could
result in your not receiving various foreclosure fees.

Robin Seidler

Grant County Treasurer

2/9/2021

Statutory changes SHALL take precedence over written information in this document.



